Tags

Dear Readers, Please welcome – Rahul Ramesh, the author of ‘Finding Love in Fifth Cross’.

BNI: Tell us something about yourself and your background.
Rahul:
I am the man who likes fame, who has struggled in life for it. It is not so easy to say about background. You can call me a middle class person.Rahul Ramesh

BNI: So, What all you have written / published till date?
Rahul:
Only my first book – ‘Finding Love In Fifth  Cross’ has been published. I am working on an anthology as a compiler and editor with Shreyan Laha. Hence, this will be my next book.

BNI: What inspired you to write your first book and or this book?
Rahul:
Real life incidents inspired me to write ‘Finding Love in Fifth Cross’. People will get to know about it when you read the book.

BNI: A 30-word tagline for your book
Rahul:
Suffused with warmth of love and passion, the novel describes the myriad variations of love, life and dreams. The story describes the author’s stay in fifth cross of Navanagar.

BNI: How did you come up with the title?
Rahul:
Five is my favourite number.

BNI: Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
Rahul:
FLIFC is tailor made for each and everyone. Yes you don’t need to worry much if your English is not that great to read and understand other novels, I wanted to target everyone, the vocabulary is very simple, and as the story is good it attracts everyone. It’s a must for teenagers and the people who haven’t found love.

BNI: Who is your favourite and least favourite character? What makes them so?
Rahul:
When it comes to characters, I should like each and everyone, they are like my own children how can I have a least favourite?

BNI: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
Rahul:
The book has two male protagonists, Rajan and the narrator himself. Both of them have one quality in common. They knew the value of relationships; they always cared about friendship and love.

BNI: Is there a message in your book/novel that you want readers to grasp?
Rahul:
Yes FLIFC was written convey that message. Readers should read and understand it.

BNI: Do you meet your readers at book signings, conventions or similar events? Any plans in relation to this book.
Rahul:
Haven’t had book signings, or any similar events. I’ll be glad to meet the readers.

BNI: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
Rahul:
Yes I do. I am not like dirty politicians who will not listen to people. I write for people and I should hear what they say. Among all the things they said, important ones are…

‘Keep writing, I am waiting for your next book.’

‘The language used in book is very simple, I loved it.’

‘You should include some difficult and catchy words while writing. It’s lacking that.’

BNI: When and how did you decide to become a writer? Do you write full-time or part-time?
Rahul:
It has been years, I used to write from school days. Wanted to be an author, never knew that I will become one. I am a student still. Therefore, I can’t be full timer.

BNI: Which writers inspire you?
Rahul:
To be frank I do not read as much as others do, among the writers who I know, I Like Paulo Coelho, Harold Robbins, H.G.Wells, R.K.Narayan.

BNI: What draws you to this genre?
Rahul:
Four years ago I started to write historical or magical type of fiction with a friend. I love to write those kinda things. As he was a fan of Harry Potter we started writing that kind of things. It’s not completed still as he lives somewhere else and as we’re busy with our own schedules. Later one fine day I simply thought of posting some story on fb as posts. Everyone knows that love is the topic which attracts people than anything else. People started to like it. They said me write more and more. This is how it began.

BNI: According to you, what is the hardest thing about writing?
Rahul:
Knowing all of your characters and building them perfectly is the hardest thing. Once it’s done then everything goes well.

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
Raul:
I think a lot. I want to write until my brain loses the capacity to think.

BNI: What has been the toughest criticism and best compliment to you, as an author?
Rahul: “you have to improve your writing skills. Vocabulary is very simple.” is the toughest criticism “hope all the authors had simple narration like you, I loved the simplicity.” is the greatest compliment.

The problem is, both criticism and compliment are for the same reason. I think I should continue simple narration as I have feedback that is more positive for that than negative feedback.

BNI: What will be your one favourite tip to get through the writer’s block?
Rahul: J
ust write.

BNI: What are your thoughts on book series? Would you like to have one for your latest book?
Rahul:
Writing a series is a tougher task. Haven’t planned it yet. One thing for sure, if written well, series will entertain well. Otherwise the author will lose his fame.

BNI: Any advice for writers budding or established?
Rahul:
Budding authors, be simple write more. Established authors, maintain the quality in writing as your readers  will be waiting for you books. Don’t make them feel bad.

BNI: Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
Rahul:
Search search and search. This is what happened.

BNI: Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it?
Rahul:
Yes, that I love writing. I can write well and can entertain people.

BNI: Any amusing story about marketing this book, so far.
Rahul:
To be frank, I don’t market it more like others. I don’t want people to buy it because of high marketing. I want people to buy it if they like to buy it. Writing is my work and I like to do it. There are some people who are waiting for my next book to come. That’s what I should think about.

BNI: How about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us.
Rahul:
On that particular day father and the son were inside the aquarium stall and the father was paying money for the fish and the fish bowl which his son had in his hand.

The eyes of that four year kid were glowing. That fish was everything for that kid, it was his dream from three to four months by that time and even the eyes of the carpenter shone with happiness. Finally after some months he was able to buy a fish and fish bowl to his son.

BNI: What are your expectations for the book?
Rahul:
I want everyone to read it. Will be happy to get the feedback.

BNI: Do you think book cover an important role in sales?
Rahul:
Yes. Surely.

BNI: ebook, pdf, mobi, kindle or printed hardcover book, what’s your pick?
Rahul:
A paperback looks better than anything else. I love to read printed paperback or hard cover books.

Thanks Rahul for accepting the request. May your novel be a success.

