Tags

, , ,

Dear Readers,

Today, I feel glad to interview Ms. Neelam Chandra, a vivacious person who is an engineer and along with this responsible profile, she manages to be an author of eleven books as well.

Neelam Chandra

Neelam Chandra

 

BNI: Tell us something about yourself and your background.
Neelam:
I am an engineer by profession and a writer by choice. I work with Indian Railways as an officer.

BNI: So, What all you have written / published till date?
Neelam:
I have published eleven books until now. These include:

  1. Can      I have this chance – A novel by Authors Press
  2. SOUL SEEKERS- A novel by LiFi Publications
  3. Layers      of flickering lights – A poetry collection by Authorspress India
  4. Silhouette of      Reflections – A poetry collection by YS Books International
  5. Hues of Love – A      poetry collection by Writers Empire
  6. Rishtey Mohabbat ke      –  A short story collection in Hindi by Omji Publishers
  7. Treacherous Lady – A      novella by Pageturn Publishers
  8. Tales from Sundervan –      A short story collection for children by Sahni Publications
  9. Chanda – A picture      book for children by Room to Read
  10. Pankhudiyan – A short      story collection for children by Sadhna Publications
  11. Five tales – A short      story collection for children by Naman Publications

BNI: What inspired you to write this book?
Neelam: Well, every novel has a story behind it. This novel was born out of an essay written by my daughter, Simran Chandra.

BNI: A 30 word tagline for your book
Neelam: From the villages of North India, to the posh highways of New York, this is a story about courage, justice, love, sacrifices, a quest for the truth, and crucial choices, all revolving around the life of a simple woman from India, but with a fire in her eyes to prove herself.

BNI: How did you come up with the title?
Neelam:
This title was given to the book by my daughter.

BNI: Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
Neelam: This is  a novel which will interest anyone right from youth to elderly gentlemen and ladies, since it covers various aspects of interest by everyone.

BNI: Who is your favourite and least favourite character? What makes them so?
Neelam:
My favorite character is the fiery journalist, Avantika and least favorite – Nitin.

BNI: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
Neelam: The main protagonist Avantika has enormous strength in her and for her ideals, she is ready to brave anything. She is a very lovable personality and can be found anywhere in the country.

BNI: Share some interesting story about the book writing.
Neelam:
I loved the concept of this novel so much that I fell in love with it and the entire novel was written by me in two months.

BNI: Is there a message in your book/novel that you want readers to grasp?
Neelam:
Every novel has an underlying message and my novel Can I have this chance also has a few of them. However, the messages are carefully cloaked and it is the adventure which is more visible on the outside.

BNI: Do you meet your readers at book signings, conventions or similar events? Any plans in relation to this book?
Neelam:
Yes, I keep meeting readers at various events. While one of such events was held at ICC, New Delhi; there will be more which I shall be announcing on my FB page.

BNI: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
Neelam:
Till now I have had feedbacks from all groups of readers and they have found the novel very interesting.

BNI: When and how did you decide to become a writer? Do you write full-time or part-time?
Neelam:
Writing is my passion. It is not a work and I do not follow it full time. Writing for me happened just by chance when I sent a story to one of the leading magazines and it got selected.

BNI: According to you, what is the hardest thing about writing?
Neelam:
Finding good publishers J

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
Neelam:
To be able to reach as many people as possible. If I am able to touch a chord in their hearts, my mission shall be accomplished.

BNI: What has been the toughest criticism and best compliment to you, as an author?
Neelam:
I am yet to receive a criticism, but yes, compliments have rained. One day, there will be criticism too and I am absolutely prepared for it. After all, everyone can have different opinions.

BNI: What will be your one favourite tip to get through the writer’s block
Neelam:
It shall pass

BNI: Any advice for writers budding or established?
Neelam: Read a lot, write a lot. Do not have airs. Do not pay for publishing.

BNI: ebook, pdf, mobi, kindle or printed hardcover book, what’s your pick? (must answer)
BNI: I love the printed book and the smell of the papers. For me it has to be a printed hardcover/paperback.

Many Thanks dear Neelam, to be interviewed on our blog. It is  really a great feeling to have you as an associate author on our blog. Best of luck for your books.

