Tags

, , ,

Dear Shivangi,

I on behalf of Books News India blog and its readers thank you for selecting our blog to promote your novel – Passionate Love.

BNI: Please provide us with a brief introduction about yourself and your interests.
Shivangi
: I am a self-professed bookworm with an incurable fetish for chick lit and Agatha Christie mysteries. I love hanging out at bookstores and coffee shops with my besties.

Shivangi Ramsay

Shivangi Ramsay

Being an ardent chocoholic, I can never say no to Mars bars and Hershey’s kisses. I love watching BBC adaptations of Jane Austen Classics, Rom-Coms, and racy Hollywood thrillers.

BNI: So, What have you written/published till date?
Shivangi
: I have written articles for reputed publications like Daily Post, Times Plus, and Hindustan Times.

Passionate Love

Passionate Love

BNI: What inspired you to write this novel – Passionate Love?
Shivangi
: I was sitting at home watching TV on a boring Sunday afternoon when it just struck me that I should invest my time in something more creative and productive. Like a woman possessed, I didn’t rest till I finished the first three chapters of Passionate Love. 

BNI: Talking about your novel – What according to you, would be a two word tagline for your book.
Shivangi
: Short and Sweet.

BNI: Passionate Love – sounds an intense title for a novel. How did you come up with the title?
Shivangi
: Being a die-hard romantic, I believe that passion is the cornerstone of a man-woman relationship and hence the title.

BNI: Who according to you, is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
Shivangi
: This book is dedicated to people who believe in the magic of love (grins).

BNI: Could you please provide us with an insight into the main character of your story.
Shivangi
: Let me just tell you that I am head over heels in love with the hero of my novel (laughs). Ayaan Ramsay is a top-notch entrepreneur with raw animal magnetism and oodles of sex appeal. He reminds me of Daniel Cleaver in Bridget Jones Dairy (sigh). He is an out and out alpha man. He is strong, passionate and self-driven. Moreover, I am crazy about him because he loves Ambika with all his heart. He is also an amazing kisser (winks).

BNI: May I please request you to share an interesting story about your book writing experience
Shivangi
: I wrote the book in my bathtub.

<LOLZ>

BNI: How and when did you decide to become a writer? Do you write full-time or part-time?
Shivangi
: I always wanted to be a writer. I am a part-time writer apart from working full-time as an assistant professor in English.

BNI: Which writers inspire you?
Shivangi
: I love Jane Austen, Thomas Hardy, Kiran Desai, Shashi Deshpande, Salman Rushdie, Amitav Ghosh, Khushwant Singh, Shobhaa De,  Manju Kapoor, Jean Rhys, and Madhuri Banerjee.

BNI: According to you, what is the hardest thing about writing?
Shivangi
: Writing requires great physical discipline on the part of the writer. For an uber-active person like me that can be a real pain.

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
Shivangi
: I just want to spread good cheer around.

BNI: How about sharing an excerpt from your novel
Shivangi
:

Her breath caught in her throat when she looked him straight in the face. Ambika Rana, the boring Plain Jane journalist, had been rescued by none other than Ayaan Ramsay, the top-notch business magnate and CEO of Ramsay Enterprises. She felt the power of speech deserting her yet couldn’t help ogling at the sinfully handsome industrialist like a shameless floozy.

“Hey, can I drop you off somewhere?”, Ambika felt his warm breath stroking  her cheeks, and suddenly out of nowhere she felt this inexplicable urge to feel his firmly chiseled lips nuzzling her delicate throat, and the sweet-scented valley between her breasts.  Needless to say, she felt deeply ashamed at the audacity of her indecent imagination, and chided herself mentally. She had never felt like this.

BNI: Any advice for budding authors?
Shivangi
: Write from your heart. Never compromise on quality to boost your sales. Last but definitely not the least- read, read, and read some more.

Thank you so much Shivangi for trusting the reader base of Books News India Blog for creating a buzz and spreading word about the book. Wish you luck!

