Tags

, , , ,

Dear Readers,

Today, I have the privilege to introduce you to a mathematician author – Gaurav Sharma. His latest publication, which is reviewed on my blog as well, is Love @ Air Force. Kindly follow the hyperlink to read: Love @ Air Force Book Review.

Please don’t be afraid with the adjective used and do not expect some equations or calculus equations being discussed here. Gaurav is a debutant author with impeccable writing skills; so much, so that it could bring your thoughts to life but is a freelance mathematics teacher as well.

BNI: Dear Gaurav, please tell us something about yourself and your background.
GS: I am a freelance Mathematics Teacher. My father worked in Indian Air Force. Because of that I had to change seven schools but it benefitted me a lot. Teaching Mathematics is another hobby apart from writing.

BNI: Have your written or your been published before this book?
GS: ‘Love @ Air Force is my first published work.

BNI: Actually, I am curious to know being a mathematics teacher what inspired you to write your first book.
GS: Writing is a hobby since childhood. However life permitted to take it seriously this late. When it allowed, I had already lost my parents. So I wanted to dedicate my first book to them. As I had told my father worked in Air Force, so I set the story in the world he belonged to.

BNI: I wish – May they shower the blessings on you. What would be a 30-word tagline for your book?
GS: A heart is a more sophisticated device than a Sukhoi.

It doesn’t know how Rank matters and doesn’t believe in the fact that in Air Force your rank decides your destiny.

BNI: Love @ Air Force, how did you come up with this interesting title?
GS: I wanted to attract the attention of Air Force personnel. That’s why I kept the title as Love @ Air Force.

BNI: Who is your favourite and least favourite character? What makes them so?
GS: It is like asking a father who his favourite child is. All the characters are my favourite but Shabd Mishra and Sushil Awasthi are closer to my heart.

BNI: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
GS: Shabd Mishra is the main character. His love for Soumya is special. That is my definition of love. I believe love is not about acquiring or possess a person. If you love somebody, you’ll always love him or her, whether requited or not. Shabd does the same.

BNI: What was the hardest and easiest thing about your latest release?
GS: Getting a publisher was the hardest thing. Nothing was easy though.

BNI: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
GS: Yes, I do hear from my readers regularly. Their feedback overwhelms me. I really feel satisfied when they ask for the phone number saying that they want to talk to me. There is nothing that equals their love and praise.

BNI: According to you, what is the hardest thing about writing?
GS: In fictional writings, narrating story as an opposite gender is very difficult I think. I am doing that in my next book and finding it quite challenging.

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
GS: Ss a writer I just want recognition from the readers; that’s all.

BNI: Any advice for writers budding or established?
GS – Just one-write from your heart.

BNI: Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
GS – To deal with the way the debutants are treated in the publishing industry is the biggest challenge.

BNI: What was your favourite chapter (or part) to write and why?
GS – Chapter no 19 is my favourite because it has one Hindi poem with English translation and I think the poem is very touching. I have got many compliments from readers and reviewers for it.

BNI: Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it?
GS: Writing first book was a great learning experience. The most important thing to learn was to avoid being descriptive and to write crisp.

BNI: What are your expectations for the book?
GS – Nothing much. Just that it brings recognition.

BNI: Do you think book cover an important role in sales?
GS – Yes, book cover has a lot to do, especially when you are an unknown writer.

BNI: According to you, what is the top most advantage / disadvantage of self publishing?
GS: Self-publishing can only give you the virtual satisfaction of being a published author. It can’t give you anything else.

BNI: ebook, pdf, mobi, kindle or printed hardcover book, what’s your pick?
GS:
Hard cover book. Nothing else gives the feel the physical book gives. It has the soul of the writer.

BNI: Thank you dear Gaurav for taking time and appearing for the interview. It is our pleasure to have reviewed your work. I, face of Books News India, on the behalf of our readers, wish you luck for your book. Looking forward to your next novel soon. 🙂

