Tags

, , , , ,

Dear Readers,

Today, I am glad to introduce you to one of the finest person, I got connected to, in relation to this blog – Abhishek Gupta (Ab Hi). He is really a nice person, humble, polite, decent yet impressive with a strong hold on his mindful thoughts that he pens down with his mighty pen.
A person carrying an impressive persona that you can easily make out as you will read his novel – Embers of Light. The way he treats his characters says it all.

So, now, without much ado, let me continue the ritual of getting you all familiarize with today’s author on-board.

BNI: Dear Abhishek, please tell our readers something about yourself and your background.
AG: I did my graduation from Delhi College of Engineering and post graduation, in management, from IMI Delhi. I specialize in branding, qualitative market research with a short stint in advertising. I am an idealist who loves creativity and enjoys laughing.

BNI: From where did you get the idea to write this fantasy trilogy?
AG: How I got the idea to this book is the one question I have been asked the maximum number of times, and it is the one question I find most difficult to answer. Because there is not one but many reasons which made me pick up this project. I grew up watching many mythological serials and reading religious books.

And in my childhood I had total faith in them. But when you grow older and you read about the concentration camps in the World War 2; see a world infested with diseases and hunger; and people dying without getting justice, it makes you wonder if the God in real is same as the one in the religious books. I was spiritually confused and wanted answers.

Second reason was that in my engineering days I got selected for a software firm. But my heart was not into coding and all. I wanted to do something creative. I remember one night I was watching a sci-fi movie; it had a very interesting plot which mentally aroused me. I wondered if I could create a story so intriguing which could entertain people, mentally arouse them and at the same time give them a good message. I started looking for a story. It then occurred to me why not write the story of God, a story which may be fictitious but makes some sense with the contemporary times.

The problem then was I myself didn’t have the answers which I wanted to give to the world. Nevertheless, I still decided to go along this path. I had no experience of story writing but things slowly started happening. The story automatically kept coming to me and everything kept on falling in the right place, as if the power sitting up there wanted to be discovered, as if it was just not coincidence, but always a part of my destiny to write this story.

BNI: A 30 word tagline for your book
AG: The story of 5 ordinary humans, who chose the path of light over and above everything else…even God.

BNI: How did you come up with the title?
AG: The embers burn themselves to produce light. Their luminosity may not be significant on larger picture but they do manage to leave their mark on the sheets of night. Similar is what I see in my characters. These five ordinary people don’t have any superpowers but they do take on all the mighty powers and darkness in the world and were able to leave their mark eventually.

BNI: Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
AG: I believe some stories are beyond demographics and this is one such story. It is for hero in you. Doesn’t matter if you are 7 or 70 as long as you have a heart of a hero ticking inside you will enjoy the story.

BNI: Who is your favourite and least favourite character? What makes them so?
AG: My personal favourite is Nicklaus Lawrence. Because he is very ordinary from inside and it makes him so unpredictable. One can’t guess where his heart would tilt the next moment. As far as least favourite character is concerned, I don’t know what to say. Because I even love my villains.

BNI: What was the hardest and easiest thing about your latest release?
AG: Easiest part was to write a good book. I was writing something which I totally believed in so my heart was totally into it. Most difficult part for a debutant author is to tell the world that he exists. A good writer may not be a good marketer and in that case good chances are that his hard work may come and go off shelves without getting noticed.

BNI: Can you please share some interesting story about the book writing/cover development.
AG: The most interesting ideas I got for the book in the semi conscious state while sleeping.

BNI: Is there a message in your book/novel that you want readers to grasp?
AG: If you believe in something then don’t be afraid of anything, not even God. If he is as good as the world tells you then he will respect your doubts and do support your cause.

BNI: Do you meet your readers at book signings, conventions or similar events? Any plans in relation to this book?
AG: Being a debutant author I don’t get much chance to do all those fancy things. But whenever I am given chance to interact with readers; I do it to the best of my abilities.

BNI: Which writers inspire you?
AG: I don’t like to get inspired by anyone. Coz when you get inspired you set an upper level for yourself which no matter how hard you try you cannot surpass. Good writers are not the ones who walk on each other’s path. They ought to make their own way. I believe in this and have tried to keep my story as uninspired and as original as possible

BNI: How was your experience in writing a fantasy?
AG: Writing a fantasy has its own perks. It gives one a Godly feeling because you are creating a new world in the way you wanted. And it gives creativity in you the maximum opportunity when you try to create something in your mind what does not even exist.

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
AG: I want to create a special place for myself in the literary world. I want to give this world, stories which do not die away with time and are able to make positive impact on the people in some way.

BNI: What has been the worst criticism and best compliment to you, as an author?
AG: Till now I have never received a negative feedback for the book, touchwood. Yes, people do give suggestions and I try to learn from those. So there has never been any heartbreaking criticism I have got till now.

As far as best compliment is concerned, recently someone after reading my book proposed me for marriage. She said it in a humorous way but at that moment I could not help myself feel flattered.

BNI: What will be your one favourite tip to get through the writer’s block?
AG: Well I do suffer from writer’s block a lot. So the best way to get out is to give yourself some time. Try to rejuvenate your mind by doing things you enjoy the most and spending time with people that make you happy. And thereafter with fresh mind try to identify the exact problem you are facing and the objective of your writing. It has always worked for me till now.

BNI: Apart from writing what are your other interests?
AG: Whenever I am not taking anything out of my mind, I am putting stuff in it. To keep it occupied, to keep it happy and most importantly to keep it alive in true sense. I read a lot about politics; watch movies and serial; try to learn about various stuff, universe, religion, economy, etc; talk to friends and sometimes strangers also and exchange ideas as well as emotion.

I am also a big foodie.

BNI: What you would like to tell our readers and debut writers?
AG: I will say to readers that don’t buy my book just because I am saying it. Go step by step, read the blurb, reviews, sample chapters etc. Everything will be available on my facebook page, Embers of Light. If you like what you read then purchase the book and embark on this journey with me. I assure, in the end, you will not regret being a part of it.

To the debutant authors, I will say only one thing – make your own way and be the best of you.

BNI: Thank you so much dear Abhishek. I appreciate your transparent and a go-getter attitude. May the book brings you the success you deserve and yes, a life-partner too. May she be inspiration for you for your next venture.
Dear readers, as I publish this interview, I wish to share with you all that I am reading his book and yet to complete it but I am totally spellbound with the magical aura that he and his colourful liquid solutions have created on me. He deserves a big applause for creating, visualizing and then bringing his army of characters into life.
May god bless.