Tags

, , ,

Dear Readers,

Let us welcome a prolific author cum technical writer – Ashwina Garg. Her read – Spicy bites with Biryani was the easiest read that I came across during my stint as a book blogger. Her characters are so simplistic that you might consider them as boy / girl / couple next door. Many of you will find it to be your own biography, written in her words but your voice (may be inner voice).

Given a chance, you should not skip reading her novel. Give it a light heart read for tasting the spices and understanding how maintaining married life is a simile of preparing a perfect biryani. A must read for married, to-be married and NRI couples as well.

BNI: Dear Ashwina, let us start with you introducing yourself to our readers.
Ashwina: I have an accountancy background but I worked as a technical writer and German translator in companies like Ashok Leyland and Siemens. I’ve also written various financial reports.

BNI: So, what all you have written / published until date?
Ashwina: As a technical writer I have written many user manuals and documents but as far as fiction is concerned, I’ve written a few short stories for Woman’s Era and published a novel ‘Spicy Bites of Biryani’ by Srishti Publishers.

BNI: What inspired you to write your first book – Spicy Bites of Biryani
Ashwina: I’ve seen many successful people who worked very hard and then came to a juncture in life where they wanted to do something else because they felt burned out because of professional and personal issues. Spicy Bites of Biryani highlights these issues in a humorous, light-hearted way.

BNI: How did you come up with this title?
Ashwina: The book is based in Hyderabad and reflects the unique flavour of Hyderabad. Since Biryani is a Hyderabadi speciality so ‘Spicy Bites of Biryani’. It deals with the mid-life crises of four friends who manage to solve their individual problems with each other’s help.

The main characters are US-returned, software engineers and hail from different states. There is the central love story between Sanjay and Aditi as well as a rekindling of romance between Mayank and Jayshree who have been married for six years and are trying for a baby.

BNI: Who is you intended audience and why should they read your book?
Ashwina: The book appeals to a wide audience. Some of the groups this book will appeal to: US-returned families, Software engineers, People of Telugu, Maharastrian, Tamilian and Punjabi origin, Professionals in their 20s and 30s and married professionals.

BNI: What was the hardest and the easiest thing about writing this novel?
Ashwina: I feel the easiest part is the writing. Marketing the book and making people aware of your book is the hard part.

BNI: Share some interesting story about book writing or cover development.
Ashwina: The weirdest part of writing this book was that everyone thought that the main characters were based on my own marriage just because my husband is a software professional and I’m a writer. This book is a work of fiction and is not my personal story!

BNI: Do you hear from readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
Ashwina: I keep hearing a lot from my readers and they keep asking me when my next book will be out.

BNI: Which writers inspire you?
Ashwina: Earlier I used to be inspired by writers like Stephen King, Sophie Kinsella, Dan Brown and John Grisham who are so prolific. Now I know many Indian authors personally and I must say, I have deep respect for all of them. None of them are full-time writers and the fact that they take time out from their families and their jobs to write is admirable.

BNI: Thank You Ashwina, for chalking out time and answering our queries. We wish you luck and success for your Biryani, I mean, your book.

