Tags

, , , ,

Dear Readers,

I am very happy to introduce you all to one of my bestie auhors (from the times I have started reviewing books for my blog). She is a multi-tasker,amom, a food blogger, a passionate writer and wears many more hats.

It was really enjoyable experience for me while reading book – Chakra. Hats off to her for managing so many characters with expertise.

Welcome abroad maam!

 

BNI: Tell us something about yourself and your background.
RL:
I work in the corporate sector and am a single parent.  I write in my spare time.Ritu Lalit - published

BNI: So, What all you have written / published till date?
RL:
Two short stories in CBSE text books, three full length novels, A Bowlful of Butterflies, HILAWI and Chakra, Chronicles of the Witch Way.  My fourth novel, His Father’s Mistress is out next month.  I also blog at www.phoenixritu.com and https://cookingisfundotcom.wordpress.com

BNI: What inspired you to write your first book and or this book?
RL:
I like writing stories, and it seemed a natural progression to write full length novels.  I had spare time once my older son got married and the younger joined college, so I started writing.

BNI: A 30 word tagline for your book.
RL:
Chakra journeys thought the sands of time, in a parallel universe, alongside the one we inhabit.  It is an almost cinematic journey from Jaipur to Delhi to Mumbai and Odisha.  The book moves on a good pace and the action keeps you on your toes.  It is Fantasy meets Vedic Wisdom behind the veiled backdrop of current global scenarios.

BNI: How did you come up with the title?
RL:
The book is about awakened kundalinis, and personally, I practise chakra meditation for mental and physical health, so Chakra seemed to be an apt title.

BNI: Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
RL:
I would love to say Young Adults, but actually a lot of appreciation has come from people of all ages.

BNI: Who is your favourite and least favourite character? What makes them so?
RL:
I love them all; the characters are fascinating to me.

BNI: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
RL:
This is a trilogy in the making.  The characters are still developing, so I cannot pick one.

BNI: What was the hardest and easiest thing about your latest release?RL: Nothing was really hard, though it was difficult to create a new world.  What shocked me was the attachment I developed for my characters and the depression I went into when I had finished the book.  It was like I lost my closest friends.

BNI: Share some interesting story about the book writing/cover development.
RL:
The story is about a family that has grey eyes … the origins of which will be explained in the next book.  The cover artist first made them brown eyes and then went into various shades of grey – until they finally matched the eyes I had imagined.  He even experimented with red eyes!  I got the artwork in the night and freaked out, but had to wait till the morning to explain to him that this is not a vampire story.

BNI: Is there a message in your book/novel that you want readers to grasp?
RL:
I write to entertain, not to preach.  I have no message to impart.

BNI: Do you meet your readers at book signings, conventions or similar events? Any plans in relation to this book?
RL:
Yes I do.  I have had book meets for every book of mine.

BNI: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
RL:
Yes.  Readers’ feedback is invaluable.  It helps me improve.

BNI: When and how did you decide to become a writer? Do you write full-time or part-time?
RL:
I write part-time.  I have always been a writer.  Now I am an author.

BNI: Which writers inspire you?
RL:
Too many to list.

BNI: What draws you to this genre?
RL:
I enjoy reading this genre

BNI: According to you, What is the hardest thing about writing?
RL:
Knowing where to end the book is the hardest.

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
RL:
I’ll keep writing so long as I enjoy writing.

BNI: What has been the toughest criticism and best compliment to you, as an author?
RL:
They’re part of the game.  I don’t remember them.

BNI: What will be your one favourite tip to get through the writer’s block?
RL:
What I do is go to a mall, shop, sit in cafes listen to people talk.  It gives me ideas.

BNI: What are your thoughts on book series? Would you like to have one for your latest book?
RL:
I am doing one.

BNI: Any advice for writers budding or established?
RL:
Have fun, enjoy what you are doing and it will click.

BNI: Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
RL:
It was really easy.  Rupa & Co. Was the first publisher I sent my manuscript to and they took it.

BNI: What was your favourite chapter (or part) to write and why?
RL:
Action.  I like doing fights, they are challenging.

BNI: Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it? RL: Can’t think of anything but that I enjoy writing.

BNI: Do you think book cover an important role in sales?
RL:
Yes it does, it plays a very important role as it attracts a customer to buy.

BNI: According to you, what is the top most advantage / disadvantage of self publishing?
RL:
I  can think of a lot of disadvantages – like marketing and distribution, where the author needs publisher‘s support.

BNI: ebook, pdf, mobi, kindle or printed hardcover book, what’s your pick?
RL:
Ebook formats are more convenient and easily accessible.

Thankyou so much maam for agreeing to be interviewed on my blog. May your books earn more success for you. Keep writing!

