Tags

, , , ,

Dear Readers,

Today we have, Bhaskaryya Dekka, the author of – The Unwanted Shadow , in spotlight. Let us read to learn more about him.

BNI: Tell us something about yourself?
BD: Well, I am from a small town in Bhaskaryya DekkaAssam, where I spent most of my childhood, before I moved briefly to Vizag to complete my schooling. Now, I live in Dhanbad, pursuing my B.Tech.

BNI: So, what have you written till date?
BD: I have written a novel before The Unwanted Shadowthis, a thriller –‘Caught in a Storm- a saga of love and betrayal’. And before that I used to run a blog (still do)- for reviews, poetry and random thoughts.

BNI: What inspired you to write this book?
BD: I guess an urge to get the idea out. I was playing with a particular idea, and happened to write a scene one day. And the story started pouring out.

BNI: A 30 word tagline for your book.
BD: A character driven psychological thriller, this is the story of a man from a small town in Assam who, when he moves to Delhi, starts to find things about his past that has been veiled behind lies and treacheries for years.

BNI: Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
BD: The book is very general, and I wrote it as such. I mean –love, loss, redemption- these are feelings that almost everyone is acquainted with in one form or the other, and can relate to.

BNI: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
BD: Mohan is a quiet guy. You know, the kind that takes some time to get along with people. But there is another side of his, the wild side, which develops as the book progresses.

BNI: What is the hardest and the easiest thing about your latest release?
BD: The hardest thing was to do the research that went behind the book, because the information was hard to get. Easiest thing was to pen down the characters, because they are bits of people I know, or have known at some point of my life, merged and separated according to the story.

BNI: Is there a message in your book/novel that you want readers to grasp?
BD: It’s just the story of an extraordinarily strongwilled man who, though his life goes terribly wrong, holds onto an unknown hope, despite everything. That’s what I want to convey- to be hopeful.

BNI: When and how did you decide to become a writer? Do you write full-time or part-time?
BD: I have been writing for a long time, but never thought about publishing. It was only three years back that I submitted my script to a publisher for the first time.

I write part-time. I am a student at Indian School of Mines.

BNI: Which writers inspire you?
BD: A lot actually. There’s Sidney Sheldon, Khuswant Singh, Charles Bukowski, Jhumpa Lahiri, R.K.Narayan.

BNI: What draws you to this genre?
BD: Honestly, I have no idea. Besides thrillers, I am a great fan of classics and literary fiction too, but whenever I sit down to write, only thrillers come to mind.

BNI: What is the hardest thing about writing?
BD: The hardest about writing, I would say, is the waiting part. It seems almost magical how a story comes out when an idea strikes you. But the unfortunate part is that you have to wait for the idea to hit you. Sometimes, it takes months… and sometimes, years.

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
BD: Haven’t really thought much about it. But, for now, I would continue writing along with my studies.

BNI: What are your thoughts on book series? Would you like to have one for your latest book?
BD: Book series I love. But every story comes with a definite ending, so does mine. It’s not possible for them to be extended into a series.

BNI: What was your favorite chapter (or part) to write and why?
BD: I liked writing the end. It felt great to combine every element of the story and bring out the final climax.

BNI: Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it?
BD: Yes, of course. Everytime, writing a book teaches something. Makes us learn to express ourselves in a better way. And moreover, it brings maturity in our writing.

BNI: How about a snippet of the book that is meant to intrigue us?

Ten thousand was good money, but the college would probably need more than twenty thousand at the time of admission. After a few moments, I heard him shouting in the kitchen and then through the window, I saw him walk out. I sat there in my room, determined even more to defy his wishes.

However, the thing I was unaware of at that time was that father was right, though ignorantly so. If for one moment I had known what would entail this decision to leave, if for one moment I had known the anguishing years that awaited ahead of me, I would have been happy to comply with dad, and spend the years in solitude in this town. But destiny had its own obstinate plans; so I kept this dream alive in me. Later, I would come to know that this dream was a beast in me that would eat away my life. And more wretchedly, of the ones I loved.

BNI: What are your expectations of this book?
BD: As any writer would expect, I hope the readers can connect with the characters and their emotions-what they feel, what they aspire. Most of all, I hope the story thrills them. 

BNI: Do you think book cover plays an important role in sales?
BD: Absolutely, it forms the first impression in the minds of readers. It must tempt him/her to choose that book.

BNI: According to you, what is the top most advantage / disadvantage of self-publishing?
BD: First of all, it requires a great deal of money to bring out a book with definite quality, which is not possible for every writer to provide. But the main disadvantage is distribution. No author can have reach that wide as that of a publisher.

BNI: e-book, pdf, mobi, kindle or printed hardcover book, what’s your pick?
BD: Printed hardcover –any day.

Books News India is thankful to you for agreeing to be interviewed. Thank you very much for making us understand you better. We wish you luck for you’re your latest and future writings.

