Tags

,

Dear Readers,

Today, I welcome one of the fine authors of the time. I am currently reading his story and will be coming out with the review soon. Till then, have a sneak peek into what author has to share with you all.

BNI: Tell us something about yourself and your background.
IW1:  Although I am the author of this book, I am not a writer by profession. I am a software developer.

BNI: A 30 word tagline for your book

…Suddenly, he saw something shiny at the bottom of the abyss. He squinted his eyes to see what it was. He ran back to his binoculars and turned them to see what it was. Sharp barbed wires that separated the two mountains came into focus. He had come as far as he could in his country. But she was standing in another country.

He was in South India and she was in North India…

Have you ever imagined India being divided into two countries? What happens to the millions of Indians who are from South India but are now residing in North India? Kaahi & Jai were two such people who got trapped in this situation. Everything was going smoothly for them and suddenly, their world turned upside down.

How will they get together? Will India become one again?

BNI: What was the hardest and easiest thing about your latest release?IW1: I don’t know about the easiest, but the most enjoyable thing for me was to develop the book’s website (www.IndiaWasOne.com). Marketing the book is most definitely the hardest.

BNI: Share some interesting story about the book writing/cover development.
IW1: The story-idea for this book was playing around in my mind for some time. When I finally decided to pen it, it took me less than a week to pour down my thoughts. I knew exactly how many chapters I wanted. It then took me over a year to expand on my ideas.

BNI: Is there a message in your book/novel that you want readers to grasp?
IW1: Yes. For Indians, we all love India…in our own way. For non-Indians, there is so much to learn in this book about India. You’ll be really surprised how diverse it is.

BNI: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
IW1: No, not personally. Actually, a few of them do write to me. However, a vast majority of them voice their opinion by reviewing my book on various platforms, such as, Amazon, Goodreads, Smashwords, etc.

BNI: What are your ambitions for your writing career?
IW1: None.

BNI: What has been the toughest criticism and best compliment to you, as an author?
IW1: Fortunately, my book has been received very well, both, by Indians and non-Indians. Hence, there has been almost no criticism. As far as compliments are concerned, I would not call it a “best compliment”. Rather, I am very proud of many reviews by non-Indians who say that they now want to visit India. That they had no idea how diverse, and culturally rich India was.

BNI: Any advice for writers budding or established?
IW1: Never give-up on your dreams. NEVER.

BNI: Can you tell us about your challenges in getting your first book published?
IW1: It is next to impossible to publish your book thru’ a publisher. Self-publishing is very easy.

BNI: Did you learn anything from writing your book? What was it?
IW1: I can do better.

BNI: How about a snippet from your book that is meant to intrigue and tantalize us?
IW1: Read a sample for free here: http://issuu.com/indiawasone/docs/sample_for_web

BNI: Do you think book cover an important role in sales?
IW1: Very. If my book is on a bookshelf competing with lots of other books, it has to be compelling enough for a casual book-browser to pick-up my book.

BNI: According to you, what is the top most advantage / disadvantage of self publishing?
IW1:

  • Advantage: You are the boss. You control your creativity.
  • Disadvantage: Marketing.

BNI: ebook, pdf, mobi, kindle or printed hardcover book, what’s your pick?
IW1: Most definitely eBooks. Let’s all be more environmentally conscious. Cut less trees.

It was my pleasure to introduce the author to my blog followers. 🙂 I am confident that those who will buy his book, will enjoy it as much as I am enjoying, at present. 🙂

