Dear Readers,

The third author enjoying the spotlight for today is Mr. Nimish Tanna, author – Moments of Truth. Let us continue our journey in learning more about the author, his interests and his book.

BNI: Tell us something about yourself and your background.NImish 1
NT: By qualification, I am an IT engineer and to cover up the inability to understand what I mugged up in those 4 years, I compensated with an MBA (Just kidding). I was born in Goa but brought up in Mumbai which makes me want essence of calm and relaxed life along with maddening urban rush at times too. An adventurer by heart with some uncanny attraction towards snakes, I believe in breaking norms and fallacies. I do not see myself doing one thing throughout my life but I would rather play many roles and enjoy the change to the core.

BNI: So, What all you have written / published till date?
NT: Moments of truth in an average B-School is my first novel. Apart from that the only published article I have to my credit is in my engineering college magazine. The article was titled ‘Thou shall call me a loser.” These days, I write blogs. www.nimishtanna.wordpress.com

BNI: What inspired you to write your first book and or this book?
NT: If you want a frank answer, the book is inspired by my own experiences (to aNImish 2 great extent) and that’s exactly why I wanted to share it with youngsters so that they can learn and not make the same mistakes which I did at some point in my life. Whenever I faced a dilemma, I never found anyone to explain or mentor me. So, I thought this book can do that for many people simultaneously across geography.

BNI: A 30 word tagline for your book
NT: Based in an average Indian B-School, Moments of Truth is an epic romantic-thriller page turner. It will help you get nostalgic as well as feel the need for finding your own purpose of life and moment of truth.

BNI: How did you come up with the title?
NT: I did not come up with it. It just came to me. One fine morning when I started writing it, I knew it would always be called as Moments of truth

BNI: Who is your intended audience and why should they read your book?
NT: Technically, everybody who has experienced college life at some point in their life is my audience. But management students or graduates will be able to relate with the story a lot more than others. They should read this book because of the following reasons:

There are far more number of average B-schools in India than the IVY league institutions. So chances are high that every 2 out of 3 aspiring management student will land up in one of these average colleges. Being in an average B-School is not the cancer, but having wrong expectations is a crime. The student life in most of these B-schools these days is nothing more than an interesting reality show recipe. The protagonist of my story tries to outrun his ambitions, relations, B-school and career pressures at such a school. But he falls hard on his face but rises up with the help of his college professor who makes him realize his purpose of life. The question is whether he is able to make it or does he get lost amidst the crowd like millions of others? Like millions of us?

And for the readers who aren’t looking for any introspective probing, then it still has all the romance, friendships, hostel life and college make out situations (wink wink)

Now, this I am sure, everybody will want to read.

BNI: Who is your favourite and least favourite character? What makes them so?
NT: My favourite is Colonel Rawat, not only because he is a very strong character but also because of his self-less attitude and giving nature. He is a wise man in the story and plays very smartly with Arjun in the process ensuring his student learns every lesson required.

Rest all characters are equally favourites of mine. So, no least favourite here.

BNI: Give us an insight into your main character. What does he/she do that is so special?
NT: The protagonist Arjun is the main character in my plot. What makes him special is that he is a very strong opinionated person. He has strong views on everything. Now, such a characteristic is a double-edged sword. The beauty lies in observing how this character behaves when his strong opinions work for him and when they don’t.

BNI: What was the hardest and easiest thing about your latest release?
NT: I initially thought that getting a publisher was the hardest, but now I think that was the easiest. The most difficult part for me was to keep patience though out the entire process. It’s my first novel and patience is all I need to develop, I feel.

BNI: Share some interesting story about the book writing/cover development.
NT: Well, I have a full-time job which consumes almost 16 hours of my day including commute. By the end of the day, all I needed was some sleep. So, when I started writing, I just couldn’t find enough time on weekends. So, I started writing during my commute in local trains. Most of the book has been written on my mobile phone. I used to write chapters or situations on my phone and mail them to myself. On the weekend, I used to collate all these short chapters on my laptop. Somehow, I completed first draft of my book and read it myself. While I was reading, I thought of a complete different climax which required me to change a lot of elements in the story. I did that change. That’s how I took 2 years to complete this book.

BNI: Is there a message in your book/novel that you want readers to grasp?
NT: As long as they understand they grasp their own moments of truth, I will be happy.

BNI: Do you hear from your readers much? What kinds of things do they say?
NT: I did receive some mails from readers and they all had good things to say. So, I thank these people who take the effort to convey it to the author. They inspire me.

BNI: When and how did you decide to become a writer? Do you write full-time or part-time?
NT: I am not a typical writer. I write only when I feel like writing. I do not force myself to write, ever.

BNI: Which writers inspire you?
NT: Ashwin Sanghi for the hard work he puts in for his research and obviously his writing style. Very engaging. He is undoubtedly our Indian Dan Brown.

BNI: According to you, What is the hardest thing about writing?
NT:
Sketching characters. You need to live through the character’s eyes to be able to know how he or she will react in a certain situation. If you miss that, readers will be able to see through the loop.

BNI: Thanks so much for investing time for answerinf the questions. Your insights and experiences will prove to be helpful for the blog readers as well.

